Can I Get $10,000 for a Car Accident?
No doubt you have heard the radio commercials telling you that may be entitled to $10,000 after a car accident. Our Miami car accident lawyers have heard those same commercials. Some of our accident and injury clients have also asked us about the $10,000 too. Problem is – it isn’t what it appears to be. There is a huge difference in the value of benefits you might be entitled to and actually getting a check for $10,000. After a car accident, you might receive up to $10,000 in benefits but getting that amount directly is an entirely different process.$10,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Benefits
Florida state law requires all vehicle owners to purchase certain types of insurance. One is property damage coverage in the amount of $10,000. This coverage is for the damage caused to another vehicle in an accident depending on a determination or agreement as to fault for the accident. The other legally required insurance is PIP.
PIP is more formally known as Personal Injury Protection. The minimum requirement under the law is $10,000 in PIP benefits. This insurance is also known as no-fault because this $10,000 is for the vehicle owner/driver/passenger without regard to fault. There are numerous scenarios under which a driver or passenger may qualify for PIP benefits. You should consult with your Miami car accident lawyer to determine if you might be entitled to PIP benefits under the facts of your particular accident.
PIP is not paid directly to you because you were in a car accident. It is available for your medical bills and lost wages. Specifically, PIP will pay 80% of your medical bills and/or 60% of your lost wages up to the limit of $10,000 after the application of your deductible. The medical bills must be necessary, reasonable and related to your accident-related injuries. The lost wages are measured as your gross lost wages usually based on your previous 13 weeks of employment before the accident. In addition to lost wages and medical expenses, PIP can also pay for the cost of mileage for transportation to and from medical treatment appointments.
Over the years, the PIP law has been amended numerous times in response to the insurance industry’s claims of fraud and abuse. As a result of litigation and lobbying efforts, there are new requirements that must be met before you can receive PIP benefits. First and foremost, you will need to be seen and treated within 14 days of the date of the accident. Our Miami car accident lawyers always recommend to our clients and their family members that following a car accident to go to their family physician, an urgent care facility or an emergency room.
In conclusion, contrary to the slick advertising, you may receive $10,000 in benefits after a car accident but no one is going to walk up and simply give you a check for $10,000 no matter what the advertisements say. Your best move is to speak with your Miami car accident attorney and get the answers you need. Then you can move forward and get the justice and compensation that you deserve.Miami Car Accident Lawyers Serving South Florida
At the Wolfson Law Firm, our Miami car accident attorneys have helped personal injury victims since 1963. We know what to do to help you get the maximum value of your insurance benefits. We also understand what needs to be done to hold the responsible driver accountable for your injuries and damages.
If you have any questions about PIP, a car accident or any type of personal injury please call us at (855) 982-2067 or (305) 285-1115 for your free consultation. We are also available for appointments at our offices in Miami, Fort Lauderdale or West Palm Beach.
Our Miami personal injury lawyers serve the people of Miami and all the communities of South Florida such as Hialeah, Fort Lauderdale, Aventura, Kendall, Miami Gardens, Pembroke Pines, North Miami Beach, Miramar, West Palm Beach, Hollywood, Boca Raton, North Miami, Wellington, Wilton Manors and Miami Beach.